Comportements de l’administration permettant de révéler une résiliation tacite du contrat

Administration behavior allowing tacit termination of the contract to be revealed

by Sébastien Palmier on December 23, 2020 | Category: Public markets
Comportements de l’administration permettant de révéler une résiliation tacite du contrat Comportements de l’administration permettant de révéler une résiliation tacite du contrat

CE December 11, 2020, Copra Mediterranean Company, req. n °427616

In this judgment, the Council of State specifies the cases in which a contract must be regarded as tacitly terminated when, by his behavior, the public person must be regarded as having decided to terminate, unequivocally, the contractual relations.

 What you must remember :

 Point n ° 1: The termination of a contract results in principle from an express decision of the contracting public entity

 The termination of a public contract results in principle from an express decision of the contracting public entity.

In its judgment of 11 December 2020, the Council of State confirms this rule by first recalling in its recital no.6 the principle according to which under the general rules applicable to administrative contracts, the public contracting party can always, in order to a reason of general interest, unilaterally terminate a contract, subject to the rights to compensation of its co-contracting party (CE 2 May 1985, Distillerie de Magnac-Laval, Lebon, p.246).

As the Council of State indicates in its judgment, this rule is now codified by the Code of Public Procurement under article L 6.5 ° which indicates that “ the contracting authority may unilaterally terminate the contract under the conditions provided for in this code ". Articles L 2195-1 to L 2195-6 of the CCP for public contracts and L 3136-3 to L 3136-10 for concession contracts determine the cases in which a public buyer can terminate a public contract as well as the terms of 'compensation of the co-contracting party.

It is only as an exception to this rule of express termination that the Council of State confirms the possibility of deducing from certain behaviors of the public purchaser a decision of tacit termination to allow the co-contractor to initiate an action for recovery of the goods. contractual relations or to move definitively to something else by obtaining, if necessary, compensation (CE February 27, 2019, Department of Seine-Saint-Denis, n ° 414114).


Point n ° 2: Identification of the elements allowing to detect the decision to terminate the contractual relations

Two types of behavior on the part of the contracting public entity can identify a tacit termination :

  • On the one hand, steps taken to meet their needs via another service provider or by other means (CE February 27, 2019, Department of Seine-Saint-Denis, n ° 414114);
  • On the other hand, certain forms of non-performance of the contract such as the failure to respond to requests from the contract holder to be able to perform the contract, or the absence of measures to enable him to perform the contract (CE December 11, 2020, Sté Copra Méditerranée, req. N ° 427616).

The elements making it possible to detect the decision to terminate the contractual relationship can thus result from positive behavior: steps taken by the public body to meet the needs concerned by other means or the adoption of decisions having the effect of making it impossible the continuation of the execution of the contract or to obstruct its execution or abstention behaviors: the silence kept in the face of the requests of the holder of the contract.


CE December 11, 2020, Copra Mediterranean Company, req. n °427616

Considering the following:

  1. It emerges from the documents in the file submitted to the trial judge that the realization of the concerted development zone (ZAC) known as "Sainte-Euphémie" was entrusted to the company Euphémie, to whose rights the company Copra Méditerranée came, by an agreement concluded on February 13, 1995 with the municipality of Plan-de-Cuques. The agreement provided for the construction of 94 housing units in four successive stages. The first of the four tranches, corresponding to zone D of the program, was completed in 2000. The other three tranches, corresponding to zones A, B and C, were not completed.
  2. The Copra Méditerranée company has asked the Marseille administrative court to order the town of Plan-de-Cuques to compensate it for the damage it considers to have suffered as a result of the work stoppage. By a judgment of July 12, 2017, the Marseille administrative court rejected his request. In a judgment of November 26, 2018, the Marseille administrative court of appeal rejected the appeal made by the company Copra Méditerranée against this judgment. The applicant company appeals against this judgment insofar as it rejected its conclusions tending to engage the responsibility of the municipality, because of the termination of the development agreement.
  3. Apart from the case where it is pronounced by the judge, the termination of an administrative contract results, in principle, from an express decision of the contracting public person. However, in the absence of a formal decision to terminate the contract taken by the contracting public body, a contract must be regarded as tacitly terminated when, by its behavior, the public body must be regarded as having unequivocally terminated, to contractual relations. The trial judges sovereignly assess, under the sole control of an error of law and a distortion of the documents in the file by the judge of cassation, the existence of a tacit termination of the contract in view of all the circumstances. of the case, in particular of the steps taken by the public body to meet the needs concerned by other means, of the period during which the public body ceased to perform the contract, taking into account its duration and its term , or the adoption of a decision of the public body which has the effect of making it impossible to continue the execution of the contract or of preventing the execution, by the co-contracting party, of its contractual obligations.

  4. It appears from the statements of the judgment under appeal, on the one hand, that no development took place within the so-called "Sainte-Euphémie" ZAC after the completion, during 2000, of the first phase of the program, corresponding to zone D, a hydraulic study carried out after the signing of the agreement and confirmed in the 2000s by several additional studies that highlighted the existence of a risk of flooding in the municipalities of Plan-de-Cuques, Marseille and Allauch, and, on the other hand, that, on January 12, 2012, the municipality informed the company, following a request from the latter relating to the progress of the project , of "stopping the development" for the reason of general interest represented by the risk of flooding, without mentioning a prospect of resumption of work or of measures envisaged in order to remedy the risk in question. Judging, despite the contents of this letter and the length of time during which the municipality had ceased to perform the contract, that no tacit termination of the development agreement concluded with a view to carrying out the concerted development zone could not be characterized in this case, the court distorted the documents in the file submitted to it. Its judgment must, therefore, be annulled as it rules on the responsibility of the municipality due to the tacit termination of the agreement for a reason of general interest.
  5. In the circumstances of the case, it is necessary to settle the case on the merits to the extent of the annulment pronounced, in application of the provisions of article L. 821-2 of the code of administrative justice.
  6. By virtue of the general rules applicable to administrative contracts, reproduced on this point in 5 ° of Article L. 6 of the Public Order Code, the contracting public entity may always, for reasons of general interest, unilaterally terminate such contract, subject to any rights to compensation from its co-contracting party.
  7. Under the terms of article 3 of the development agreement concluded between the municipality of Plan-de-Cuques and the Sainte-Euphémie development company with a view to the development of the concerted development zone known as "Sainte-Euphémie" -Euphemia ":" The development and equipment of the area may be carried out in four stages maximum, each of them including the public facilities of any kind necessary for the constructions (...) ". By virtue of the stipulations of article 9 of this same agreement: "The developer and the municipality must each year, before January 31: / a) jointly decide on the program and the schedule of works (...) / b ) decide, if need be, to launch a new section after having decided on the program and schedule for the work of this section; However, the program and schedule for the work of the first section are annexed to this agreement (. ..) / The program and timeframe for the work of the other installments are given for information only and annexed to this agreement (...) "; that also under its article 14, in its wording resulting from the rider n ° 1 to the planning agreement, approved by deliberation of May 21, 1996: "(...) The agreement may be resolved upon request one of the two parties with regard to the installments not yet committed if, one year after the date fixed for the end of a phase by the last schedule approved in application of article 9 above, it has not a program and a schedule for the next phase have not been established. (...) / However, it is expressly agreed that the delay in development for units A - B - C resulting from the technical measures to be taken to mitigate the risk -above explained, will not be considered as a delay attributable to the municipality or to the developer within the meaning of the preceding provisions.In addition, the works resulting from these stages described in appendix II of the initial agreement can only be undertaken '' once the risk mentioned is definitively settled on the plan technical, each of the co-contractors cannot ask the other for anything in this regard ".
  8. It follows from what was said above that the agreement was tacitly terminated by the municipality for a reason of general interest after the completion of the first phase of the works corresponding to zone D. If this termination is likely to open right to compensation for the benefit of the applicant, it follows from the aforementioned stipulations that due to the need for the parties to expressly agree on the continuation of the development program and the realization of the stages corresponding to zones A, B and C , and then, in any event, that the elements produced by the company do not make it possible to establish that expenditure would have been incurred for the realization of these stages, the damages invoked by the company Copra Méditerranée resulting from their non-realization, including the loss of profit, are of a purely contingent nature.
  9. It follows from the foregoing that the company is not justified in maintaining that it is wrong that by the contested judgment, the administrative court of Marseille rejected its conclusions tending to compensation for the damages it allegedly suffered from tacit termination of the agreement for reasons of general interest.
  10. The provisions of article L. 761-1 of the code of administrative justice prevent a sum from being charged to the municipality of Plan-de-Cuques in this regard.

 

DECIDE:

Article 1: The judgment of the administrative court of appeal of Marseille of November 26, 2018 is annulled as it rules on the responsibility of the municipality due to the tacit termination of the agreement for a reason of general interest.
Article 2: The conclusions of the request of the company Copra Méditerranée before the administrative court of Marseille for compensation for the damage it would have suffered as a result of the tacit termination of the agreement for a reason of general interest as well as those tending that a sum be charged to the municipality of Plan-de-Cuques under the provisions of article L. 761-1 of the code of administrative justice are rejected.
Article 3: This decision will be notified to the company Copra Méditerranée and to the municipality of Plan-de-Cuques.

Tél : 01 42 22 09 18
Fax : 01 42 22 10 03
Publié le 23 Déc 2020

Comportements de l’administration permettant de révéler une résiliation tacite du contrat

CE 11 décembre 2020, Sté Copra Méditerranée, req. n°427616

Dans cet arrêt, le Conseil d’Etat précise les cas dans lesquels un contrat doit être regardé comme tacitement résilié lorsque, par son comportement, la personne publique doit être regardée comme ayant décidé de mettre fin, de façon non équivoque, aux relations contractuelles.

 Ce qu’il faut retenir :

 Point n°1 : La résiliation d’un contrat résulte en principe d’une décision expresse de la personne publique cocontractante

 La résiliation d’un contrat public résulte en principe d’une décision expresse de la personne publique cocontractante.

Dans son arrêt du 11 décembre 2020, le Conseil d’Etat confirme cette règle en rappelant tout d’abord dans son considérant n°6 le principe selon lequel en vertu des règles générales applicables aux contrats administratifs, la personne publique cocontractante peut toujours, pour un motif d'intérêt général, résilier unilatéralement un contrat, sous réserve des droits à indemnité de son cocontractant (CE 2 mai1985, Distillerie de Magnac-Laval, Lebon,p.246).

Comme l’indique le Conseil d’Etat dans son arrêt, cette règle est désormais codifiée par le Code de la Commande publique sous l’article L 6.5° qui indique que « l'autorité contractante peut résilier unilatéralement le contrat dans les conditions prévues par le présent code ». Les articles L 2195-1 à L 2195-6 du CCP pour les marchés publics et L 3136-3 à L 3136-10 pour les contrats de concessions déterminent les cas dans lesquels un acheteur public peut résilier un contrat public ainsi que les modalités d’indemnisation du cocontractant.

Ce n’est que par exception à cette règle de résiliation expresse, que le Conseil d’Etat confirme la possibilité de déduire de certains comportements de l’acheteur public une décision de résiliation tacite pour permettre au cocontractant d’engager une action en reprise des relations contractuelles ou de passer définitivement à autre chose en obtenant, le cas échéant, une indemnisation (CE 27 février 2019, Département de la Seine-Saint-Denis, n°414114).


Point n°2 :  L’identification des éléments permettant de déceler la décision de mettre fin aux relations contractuelles

Deux types de comportements de la personne publique cocontractante peuvent permettre d’identifier une résiliation tacite :

  • D’une part, des démarches engagées pour satisfaire ses besoins via un autre prestataire ou par d’autres moyens (CE 27 février 2019, Département de la Seine-Saint-Denis, n°414114);
  • D’autre, certaines formes d’inexécution du contrat comme l’absence de réponse aux demandes du titulaire du contrat pour pouvoir exécuter le contrat, ou l’absence de mesure pour lui permettre d’exécuter le contrat (CE 11 décembre 2020, Sté Copra Méditerranée, req. n°427616).

Les éléments permettant de déceler la décision de mettre fin aux relations contractuelles peuvent ainsi résulter de comportements positifs : des démarches engagées par la personne publique pour satisfaire les besoins concernés par d’autres moyens ou encore l’adoption de décisions ayant pour effet de rendre impossible la poursuite de l’exécution du contrat ou de faire obstacle à son exécution ou des comportements d’abstention : le silence gardé face aux demandes du titulaire du contrat.


CE 11 décembre 2020, Sté Copra Méditerranée, req. n°427616

Considérant ce qui suit :

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis au juge du fond que la réalisation de la zone d'aménagement concerté (ZAC) dite " de Sainte-Euphémie " a été confiée à la société Euphémie, aux droits de laquelle est venue la société Copra Méditerranée, par une convention conclue le 13 février 1995 avec la commune de Plan-de-Cuques. La convention prévoyait la réalisation de 94 logements en quatre tranches successives. La première des quatre tranches, correspondant à la zone D du programme, a été achevée en 2000. Les trois autres tranches, correspondant aux zones A, B et C, n'ont pas été réalisées.
  2. La société Copra Méditerranée a demandé au tribunal administratif de Marseille de condamner la commune de Plan-de-Cuques à l'indemniser du préjudice qu'elle estime avoir subi du fait de l'arrêt des travaux. Par un jugement du 12 juillet 2017, le tribunal administratif de Marseille a rejeté sa demande. Par un arrêt du 26 novembre 2018, la cour administrative d'appel de Marseille a rejeté l'appel formé par la société Copra Méditerranée contre ce jugement. La société requérante se pourvoit contre cet arrêt en tant qu'il a rejeté ses conclusions tendant à ce que soit engagée la responsabilité de la commune, en raison de la résiliation de la convention d'aménagement.
  3. En dehors du cas où elle est prononcée par le juge, la résiliation d'un contrat administratif résulte, en principe, d'une décision expresse de la personne publique cocontractante. Cependant, en l'absence de décision formelle de résiliation du contrat prise par la personne publique cocontractante, un contrat doit être regardé comme tacitement résilié lorsque, par son comportement, la personne publique doit être regardée comme ayant mis fin, de façon non équivoque, aux relations contractuelles. Les juges du fond apprécient souverainement, sous le seul contrôle d'une erreur de droit et d'une dénaturation des pièces du dossier par le juge de cassation, l'existence d'une résiliation tacite du contrat au vu de l'ensemble des circonstances de l'espèce, en particulier des démarches engagées par la personne publique pour satisfaire les besoins concernés par d'autres moyens, de la période durant laquelle la personne publique a cessé d'exécuter le contrat, compte tenu de sa durée et de son terme, ou encore de l'adoption d'une décision de la personne publique qui a pour effet de rendre impossible la poursuite de l'exécution du contrat ou de faire obstacle à l'exécution, par le cocontractant, de ses obligations contractuelles.

  4. Il ressort des énonciations de l'arrêt attaqué, d'une part, qu'aucun aménagement n'a eu lieu au sein de la ZAC dite " de Sainte-Euphémie " après l'achèvement, au cours de l'année 2000, de la première tranche du programme, correspondant à la zone D, une étude hydraulique réalisée postérieurement à la signature de la convention et confirmée au cours des années 2000 par plusieurs études complémentaires ayant mis en évidence l'existence d'un risque d'inondation des communes de Plan-de-Cuques, Marseille et Allauch, et, d'autre part, que, le 12 janvier 2012, la commune a informé la société, à la suite d'une demande de celle-ci relative à l'avancement du projet, de " l'arrêt de l'aménagement " pour le motif d'intérêt général représenté par le risque d'inondation, sans faire état d'une perspective de reprise de travaux ni de mesures envisagées afin de remédier au risque en cause. En jugeant, en dépit du contenu de ce courrier et de la durée durant laquelle la commune avait cessé d'exécuter le contrat, qu'aucune résiliation tacite de la convention d'aménagement conclue en vue de réaliser la zone d'aménagement concertée ne pouvait être caractérisée en l'espèce, la cour a dénaturé les pièces du dossier qui lui était soumis. Son arrêt doit, par suite, être annulé en tant qu'il statue sur la responsabilité de la commune du fait de la résiliation tacite de la convention pour un motif d'intérêt général.
  5. Il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l'espèce, de régler l'affaire au fond dans la mesure de l'annulation prononcée, en application des dispositions de l'article L. 821-2 du code de justice administrative.
  6. En vertu des règles générales applicables aux contrats administratifs, reprises sur ce point au 5° de l'article L. 6 du code de la commande publique, la personne publique cocontractante peut toujours, pour un motif d'intérêt général, résilier unilatéralement un tel contrat, sous réserve des droits éventuels à indemnité de son cocontractant.
  7. Aux termes de l'article 3 de la convention d'aménagement conclue entre la commune de Plan-de-Cuques et la société d'aménagement de Sainte-Euphémie en vue de l'aménagement de la zone d'aménagement concerté dite " de Sainte-Euphémie " : " L'aménagement et l'équipement de la zone pourront être exécutés en quatre tranches maximum, chacune d'elles comprenant les équipements publics de toute nature nécessaires aux constructions (...) ". En vertu des stipulations de l'article 9 de cette même convention : " L'aménageur et la commune devront chaque année, avant le 31 janvier : / a) arrêter ensemble le programme et l'échéancier des travaux (...) / b) décider, le cas échéant, le lancement d'une nouvelle tranche après avoir arrêté le programme et l'échéancier des travaux de cette tranche ; Toutefois le programme et l'échéancier des travaux de la première tranche sont annexés à la présente convention (...) / Le programme et le délai d'exécution des travaux des autres tranches sont donnés à titre indicatif et annexés à la présente convention (...) " ; qu'aux termes également de son article 14, dans sa rédaction issue de l'avenant n° 1 à la convention d'aménagement, approuvé par délibération du 21 mai 1996 : " (...) La convention pourra être résolue à la demande d'une des deux parties pour ce qui concerne les tranches non encore engagées si, un an après la date fixée pour la fin d'une tranche par le dernier échéancier approuvé en application de l'article 9 ci-dessus, il n'a pas été arrêté un programme et un échéancier pour la tranche suivante. (...) / Toutefois, il est expressément convenu que le retard d'aménagement pour les tranches A - B - C résultant des dispositions techniques à prendre pour pallier le risque ci-dessus exposé, ne sera pas considéré comme un retard imputable à la commune ou à l'aménageur au sens des dispositions qui précèdent. Par ailleurs les travaux résultant de ces tranches décrits dans l'annexe II de la convention initiale ne pourront être engagés qu'une fois le risque évoqué définitivement réglé sur le plan technique, chacun des cotraitants ne pouvant demander à l'autre quoi que ce soit à ce titre ".
  8. Il résulte de ce qui a été dit plus haut que la convention a été tacitement résiliée par la commune pour un motif d'intérêt général après la réalisation de la première tranche des travaux correspondant à la zone D. Si cette résiliation est de nature à ouvrir droit à indemnité au bénéfice de la requérante, il résulte des stipulations précitées qu'en raison de la nécessité pour les parties de s'entendre expressément sur la poursuite du programme d'aménagement et la réalisation des tranches correspondant aux zones A, B et C, et alors, en tout état de cause, que les éléments produits par la société ne permettent pas d'établir que des dépenses auraient été engagées pour la réalisation de ces tranches, les préjudices invoqués par la société Copra Méditerranée résultant de leur non réalisation, y compris le manque à gagner, présentent un caractère purement éventuel.
  9. Il résulte de ce qui précède que la société n'est pas fondée à soutenir que c'est à tort que par le jugement attaqué, le tribunal administratif de Marseille a rejeté ses conclusions tendant à l'indemnisation des préjudices qu'elle aurait subis du fait de la résiliation tacite de la convention pour un motif d'intérêt général.
  10. Les dispositions de l'article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce qu'une somme soit mise à ce titre à la charge de la commune de Plan-de-Cuques.

 

D E C I D E :

Article 1er : L'arrêt de la cour administrative d'appel de Marseille du 26 novembre 2018 est annulé en tant qu'il statue sur la responsabilité de la commune du fait de la résiliation tacite de la convention pour un motif d'intérêt général.
Article 2 : Les conclusions de la requête de la société Copra Méditerranée devant la cour administrative de Marseille tendant à l'indemnisation des préjudices qu'elle aurait subis du fait de la résiliation tacite de la convention pour un motif d'intérêt général ainsi que celles tendant à ce qu'une somme soit mise à la charge de la commune de Plan-de-Cuques au titre des dispositions de l'article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative sont rejetées.
Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la société Copra Méditerranée et à la commune de Plan-de-Cuques.


Table des matières
Tous droits réservés © Cabinet Palmier - Brault - Associés