Référés précontractuels successifs : c’est possible tant que le contrat n’est pas signé !

Successive pre-contractual referrals: it's possible as long as the contract is not signed!

by Sébastien Palmier on December 23, 2020 | Category: Pre-contractual & Contractual referral
Référés précontractuels successifs : c’est possible tant que le contrat n’est pas signé ! Référés précontractuels successifs : c’est possible tant que le contrat n’est pas signé !

CE December 8, 2020, Sté Pompes funèbres funérarium, n °440704

As long as the contract is not signed, a candidate evicted or prevented from participating in a publicity and competition procedure can introduce several successive pre-contractual summary proceedings. Only the signing of the contract renders the pre-contractual summary inadmissible.

What you must remember :

Point n ° 1: The possibility of introducing several successive pre-contractual summary proceedings as long as the contract has not been signed 

The introduction of a pre-contractual summary is not locked into any particular time limit. Article L 551-1 of the CJA only indicates that the judge must be consulted before the contract is concluded. Thus, the fact that more than two months have elapsed between the notification of the rejection of the offer and the lodging of the request has no effect on the admissibility of the latter since the contract is not yet signed (CE December 14, 2009, municipality of La Roche-sur-Yon, n ° 325830).

The Code of Administrative Justice does not contain any specific provision prohibiting the introduction of several successive pre-contractual summary proceedings before the contract is signed. The decisions of the interim judge are moreover only provisional and do not have the authority of res judicata (CE March 6, 2009, Société Biomérieux, n ° 324064) so that the same applicant can decide to introduce a second pre-contractual summary after the first on the basis of the same breach or on another.

This is the reason why in its judgment of 8 December 2020, the Council of State recalls in recital no.7 that the circumstance that an economic operator has already exercised two pre-contractual summary proceedings during which he could have raised the ( s) breach (s) of which he relies, does not prevent him from forming a new pre-contractual summary as long as the period for suspending the signing of the contract has not expired

Point n ° 2:      The possibility of introducing several successive interim suspension in the event of new means not known at the time of the first referral

In the same way, in a judgment of 29 June 2020, SCI Eaux Douces, n ° 435502,the Council of State considered in matters of summary suspension that the circumstance that the judge of summary proceedings rejected a first request for suspension presented on the basis of article L. 521-1 of the code of administrative justice does not preclude that the same applicant seize this judge with a new request having the same object, in particular by raising pleas or by putting forward new elements, even though they could have been submitted to him from his first referral.

In its judgment of December 8, 2020, the Council of State extends this solution to pre-contractual summary proceedings with simply the particularity of signing the contract which puts a definitive end to the pre-contractual summary procedure.

 


CE December 8, 2020, Sté Pompes funèbres funérarium, n °440704

Considering the following:

  1. It appears from the documents in the file submitted to the interim judge that the municipality of Challans has launched a consultation with a view to the award of a public service concession, for a period of thirty years, relating to the design, construction and then the operation of a communal crematorium. By letter of December 20, 2019, the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand, which had applied, was informed by the municipality of Challans that its offer had not been accepted and that the contract had been awarded to the group. joint and several composed of the company Compagnie des crématoriums, agent, and the company Accueil funéraire 85. By a first request rejected on the merits by an order of the judge of the pre-contractual summary of January 31, 2020, the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand requested, on the basis of Article L. 551-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, the cancellation of the procedure for signing the concession contract. This company presented a second request on the same basis, which was rejected on the merits by an order of February 27, 2020. By a third request, registered on March 2, 2020, the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand again asked the judge to pre-contractual summary, on the basis of Article L. 551-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, to cancel the procedure, launched by the municipality of Challans, for the signing of the public service concession agreement. However, this company, informed that the disputed agreement had been signed on February 27, 2020, presented new conclusions in an additional brief and requested the contractual interim judge, on the basis of articles L. 551-13 and L. 551- 18 of the administrative justice code, to cancel the said agreement. She is appealing in cassation against the order of April 28, 2020 by which the summary judge rejected his conclusions in contractual summary.

    On the legality of the contested order:

  2. Article 9 of the ordinance of March 25, 2020 adapting the rules applicable before administrative courts provides that, during the period between March 12, 2020 and the date of cessation of the state of health emergency declared under the conditions of article 4 of the law of March 23, 2020, "In addition to the cases provided for in article L. 522-3 of the administrative justice code, it may be ruled without a hearing, by reasoned order, on the applications presented in summary proceedings (...) ".
  3. In the first place, these provisions open to the judge of summary proceedings the possibility of ruling without a hearing on any request for summary proceedings during this period, without this option being limited to proceedings falling under Title II of Book V of the Code of Administrative Justice. Consequently, the summary judge, who did not have to justify his order on this point, was able without error of law to make use of this possibility in the context of proceedings initiated on the basis of Article L. 551. -1 of the administrative justice code and judged on that of articles L. 551-13 and L. 551-18 of the same code.
  4. Secondly, it does not follow from the provisions cited in point 2 that applications which had been entered on the roll for a public hearing before the declaration of the state of health emergency would be excluded from their scope. were struck off the list and then returned to a later date before being dispensed from hearing because of this state of emergency. Consequently, the summary judge did not vitiate the contested order with any procedural flaw by ruling without a hearing in such circumstances.

On the merits of the contested order:

  1. Under the terms of article L. 551-13 of the code of administrative justice: "The president of the administrative court, or the magistrate that he delegates, can be seized, once concluded one of the contracts mentioned in articles L. 551 -1 and L. 551-5, of an appeal governed by this section ". Under the terms of Article L. 551-14 of the same code: "The persons authorized to act are those who have an interest in concluding the contract and who are liable to be harmed by breaches of the obligations of publicity and competition to which these contracts are subject, as well as the representative of the State in the case of contracts concluded by a territorial collectivity or a local public establishment. / However, the recourse governed by this section is not open to the applicant use of the remedy provided for in Article L. 551-1 or in Article L. 551-5 when the contracting authority or the contracting entity has complied with the suspension provided for in Article L. 551-4 or Article L. 5519 and complied with the judicial decision rendered on this appeal ". Under article 29 of the decree of 1 February 2016 relating to concession contracts, then applicable: "I. - For concession contracts whose value is equal to or greater than the threshold referred to in article 9, at the With the exception of concession contracts falling under a and b of 2 ° of Article 10, the licensing authority, as soon as it has made its choice for an application or an offer, notifies all other candidates and tenderers of the rejection of their application or their offer. This notification specifies the reasons for this rejection and, for the tenderers, the name of the successful tenderer (s) as well as the reasons which led to the choice of the tender. / A deadline of at least sixteen days is observed between the date of dispatch of the notification and the date of conclusion of the concession contract. This period is reduced to at least eleven days in the event of electronic transmission of this notification to all interested candidates and tenderers ". Under the terms of article L. 551-4 of the code of administrative justice: "The contract cannot be signed from the referral to the administrative court and until the notification to the contracting authority of the judicial decision".
  2. It follows from the foregoing provisions that, with regard to the contracts mentioned in article 26 of the decree of 1 February 2016, then in force, relating to concession contracts, are the only ones admissible to refer a contractual summary to the judge, in addition to the prefect, candidates deprived of the possibility of usefully presenting a pre-contractual appeal, when the contracting authority or the contracting entity has not communicated the award decision to the unsuccessful candidates or has not observed, before signing the contract, the time limit set by this article, as well as those who have initiated a pre-contractual summary when the contracting authority or the contracting entity has not complied with the obligation to suspend the signing of the contract provided for in articles L. 5514 or L. 5519 of the administrative justice code or did not comply with the judicial decision rendered on this summary.
  3. To conclude that the conclusions of the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand in cancellation of the public service concession agreement presented on the basis of the aforementioned provisions of Articles L. 551-13 and L. 551-18 of the Administrative Justice Code are inadmissible , the summary judge noted that by admitting that the municipality of Challans disregarded the period during which it should not sign the contract, this failure did not deprive the company of its right to appeal to the pre-contractual summary judge. 'a third request invoking a new breach since it had already been able to present two pre-contractual summary proceedings rejected on the merits. By ruling thus, while the fact that the ousted company had already exercised two pre-contractual summary proceedings during which it could have raised the breach on which it was claiming, did not prevent it from forming a new pre-contractual summary as long as the deadline suspension of the signing of the contract had not expired, the author of the contested order committed an error of law.

  4. However, it emerges from the statements of the contested ordinance that the municipality of Challans had been informed of the meaning of the ordinance of 27 February 2020 by its lawyer, to whom this ordinance had been notified, before signing the contested contract. Therefore, it must be regarded as having received notification within the meaning and for the application of article L. 551-4 of the code of administrative justice. Consequently, the signing of this contract did not take place in breach of the suspension obligation set by this same article. In these conditions, it follows from what was said in point 6 that the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand was not admissible to seize the judge of a contractual summary. This ground, which responds to a plea put forward before the trial judges and whose examination does not involve the assessment of any factual circumstance, must be substituted for the erroneous ground in law retained by the contested order, which it justifies. the device. Consequently, the appeal of the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand must be dismissed.
  5. It follows from the foregoing that the appeal of the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand must be rejected, including, consequently, its conclusions presented under article L. 761-1 of the administrative justice code. On the other hand, in the circumstances of the case, it is necessary to make the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand responsible for the sum of 3,000 euros to be paid, on the one hand to the municipality of Challans, on the other hand. to the companies Accueil funéraire 85 and Compagnie des crématoriums under the provisions of this article.

 

DECIDE:

Article 1: The appeal of the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand is rejected.
Article 2: The company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand will pay, on the one hand, to the municipality of Challans, a sum of 3,000 euros, on the other hand to the companies Accueil funéraire 85 and Compagnie des crématoriums together, the same sum of 3,000 euros under the provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice.
Article 3: This decision will be notified to the company Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand, the municipality of Challans, the company Accueil funéraire 85 and the company Compagnie des crématoriums.

Tél : 01 42 22 09 18
Fax : 01 42 22 10 03

Référés précontractuels successifs : c’est possible tant que le contrat n’est pas signé !

CE 8 décembre 2020, Sté Pompes funèbres funérarium, n°440704

Tant que le contrat n’est pas signé, un candidat évincé ou empêché de participer à une procédure de publicité et de mise en concurrence peut introduire plusieurs référés précontractuels successifs. Seule la signature du contrat rend le référé précontractuel irrecevable.

Ce qu’il faut retenir :

Point n°1 :      La possibilité d’introduire plusieurs référés précontractuels successifs tant que le contrat n’est pas signé 

L’introduction d’un référé précontractuel n’est enfermée dans aucun délai particulier. L’article L 551-1 du CJA indique seulement que le juge doit être saisi avant la conclusion du contrat. Ainsi, la circonstance qu’il se soit écoulé plus de deux mois entre la notification du rejet de l’offre et l’introduction de la requête est sans incidence sur la recevabilité de celle-ci dès lors que le contrat n’est pas encore signé (CE 14 décembre 2009, commune de la Roche-sur-Yon, n°325830).

Le Code de la justice administrative ne contient aucune disposition spécifique interdisant d’introduire plusieurs référés précontractuels successifs avant que le contrat soit signé. Les décisions du juge du référé ne possèdent d’ailleurs qu’un caractère provisoire et ne sont pas revêtues de l’autorité de chose jugée (CE 6 mars 2009, Société Biomérieux, n° 324064) de sorte qu’un même requérant peut décider d’introduire un second référé précontractuel à la suite du premier sur le fondement du même manquement ou sur un autre.

C’est la raison pour laquelle dans son arrêt du 8 décembre 2020, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle en son considérant n°7 que la circonstance qu'un opérateur économique a déjà exercé deux référés précontractuels au cours desquels il aurait pu soulever le(s) manquement(s) dont il se prévaut, ne fait pas obstacle à ce qu'il forme un nouveau référé précontractuel tant que le délai de suspension de la signature du contrat n'est pas expiré

Point n°2 :      La possibilité d’introduire plusieurs référés suspension successifs en cas de moyens nouveaux non connus lors de la première saisine

De la même façon, dans un arrêt du 29 juin 2020, SCI Eaux douces, n°435502,le Conseil d’Etat a considéré en matière de référé suspension que la circonstance que le juge des référés a rejeté une première demande de suspension présentée sur le fondement de l'article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative ne fait pas obstacle à ce que le même requérant saisisse ce juge d'une nouvelle demande ayant le même objet, notamment en soulevant des moyens ou en faisant valoir des éléments nouveaux, alors même qu'ils auraient pu lui être soumis dès sa première saisine.

Dans son arrêt du 8 décembre 2020, le Conseil d’Etat étend cette solution aux référés précontractuels avec simplement la particularité de la signature du contrat qui met un terme définitif à la procédure du référé précontractuel.

 


CE 8 décembre 2020, Sté Pompes funèbres funérarium, n°440704

Considérant ce qui suit :

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis au juge des référés que la commune de Challans a lancé une consultation en vue de l'attribution d'une concession de service public, d'une durée de trente ans, portant sur la conception, la construction puis l'exploitation d'un crématorium communal. Par un courrier du 20 décembre 2019, la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand, qui s'était portée candidate, a été informée par la commune de Challans de ce que son offre n'avait pas été retenue et que le contrat avait été attribué au groupement solidaire composé de la société Compagnie des crématoriums, mandataire, et de la société Accueil funéraire 85. Par une première requête rejetée au fond par une ordonnance du juge du référé précontractuel du 31 janvier 2020, la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand a demandé, sur le fondement de l'article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative, l'annulation de la procédure de passation du contrat de concession. Cette société a présenté une deuxième requête sur le même fondement, qui a été rejetée au fond par une ordonnance du 27 février 2020. Par une troisième requête, enregistrée le 2 mars 2020, la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand a demandé à nouveau au juge du référé précontractuel, sur le fondement de l'article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative, d'annuler la procédure, lancée par la commune de Challans, de passation de la convention de concession de service public. Toutefois, cette société, informée que la convention litigieuse avait été signée le 27 février 2020, a présenté de nouvelles conclusions dans un mémoire complémentaire et demandé au juge du référé contractuel, sur le fondement des articles L. 551-13 et L. 551-18 du code de justice administrative, d'annuler ladite convention. Elle se pourvoit en cassation contre l'ordonnance du 28 avril 2020 par laquelle le juge des référés a rejeté ses conclusions en référé contractuel.Sur la régularité de l'ordonnance attaquée :
  2. L'article 9 de l'ordonnance du 25 mars 2020 portant adaptation des règles applicables devant les juridictions de l'ordre administratif dispose que, durant la période comprise entre le 12 mars 2020 et la date de cessation de l'état d'urgence sanitaire déclaré dans les conditions de l'article 4 de la loi du 23 mars 2020, " Outre les cas prévus à l'article L. 522-3 du code de justice administrative, il peut être statué sans audience, par ordonnance motivée, sur les requêtes présentées en référé (...) ".
  3. En premier lieu, ces dispositions ouvrent au juge des référés la possibilité de statuer sans audience sur toute demande en référé pendant cette période, sans que cette faculté soit limitée aux procédures relevant du titre II du livre V du code de justice administrative. Par suite, le juge des référés, qui n'avait pas à motiver son ordonnance sur ce point, a pu sans erreur de droit faire usage de cette possibilité dans le cadre d'une procédure engagée sur le fondement de l'article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative et jugé sur celui des articles L. 551-13 et L. 551-18 du même code.
  4. En second lieu, il ne résulte pas des dispositions citées au point 2 que seraient exclues de leur champ d'application les requêtes qui avaient été inscrites au rôle d'une audience publique avant la déclaration de l'état d'urgence sanitaire et qui ont été rayées du rôle puis renvoyées à une date ultérieure avant de faire l'objet d'une dispense d'audience du fait de cet état d'urgence. Par suite, le juge des référés n'a entaché l'ordonnance attaquée d'aucun vice de procédure en statuant sans audience dans de telles circonstances.

Sur le bien-fondé de l'ordonnance attaquée :

  1. Aux termes de l'article L. 551-13 du code de justice administrative : " Le président du tribunal administratif, ou le magistrat qu'il délègue, peut être saisi, une fois conclu l'un des contrats mentionnés aux articles L. 551-1 et L. 551-5, d'un recours régi par la présente section ". Aux termes de l'article L. 551-14 du même code : " Les personnes habilitées à agir sont celles qui ont un intérêt à conclure le contrat et qui sont susceptibles d'être lésées par des manquements aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence auxquelles sont soumis ces contrats, ainsi que le représentant de l'Etat dans le cas des contrats passés par une collectivité territoriale ou un établissement public local. / Toutefois, le recours régi par la présente section n'est pas ouvert au demandeur ayant fait usage du recours prévu à l'article L. 551-1 ou à l'article L. 551-5 dès lors que le pouvoir adjudicateur ou l'entité adjudicatrice a respecté la suspension prévue à l'article L. 551-4 ou à l'article L. 5519 et s'est conformé à la décision juridictionnelle rendue sur ce recours ". Aux termes de l'article 29 du décret du 1er février 2016 relatif aux contrats de concession, alors applicable : " I. - Pour les contrats de concession dont la valeur est égale ou supérieure au seuil visé à l'article 9, à l'exception des contrats de concession relevant du a et du b du 2° de l'article 10, l'autorité concédante, dès qu'elle a fait son choix pour une candidature ou une offre, notifie à tous les autres candidats et soumissionnaires le rejet de leur candidature ou de leur offre. Cette notification précise les motifs de ce rejet et, pour les soumissionnaires, le nom du ou des attributaires ainsi que les motifs qui ont conduit au choix de l'offre. / Un délai d'au moins seize jours est respecté entre la date d'envoi de la notification et la date de conclusion du contrat de concession. Ce délai est réduit à au moins onze jours en cas de transmission électronique de cette notification à l'ensemble des candidats et soumissionnaires intéressés ". Aux termes de l'article L. 551-4 du code de justice administrative : " Le contrat ne peut être signé à compter de la saisine du tribunal administratif et jusqu'à la notification au pouvoir adjudicateur de la décision juridictionnelle ".
  2. Il résulte des dispositions qui précèdent que, s'agissant des contrats mentionnés à l'article 26 du décret du 1er février 2016, alors en vigueur, relatif aux contrats de concession, sont seuls recevables à saisir le juge d'un référé contractuel, outre le préfet, les candidats privés de la possibilité de présenter utilement un recours précontractuel, lorsque le pouvoir adjudicateur ou l'entité adjudicatrice n'a pas communiqué la décision d'attribution aux candidats non retenus ou n'a pas observé, avant de signer le contrat, le délai fixé par cet article, ainsi que ceux qui ont engagé un référé précontractuel lorsque le pouvoir adjudicateur ou l'entité adjudicatrice n'a pas respecté l'obligation de suspendre la signature du contrat prévue aux articles L. 5514 ou L. 5519 du code de justice administrative ou ne s'est pas conformé à la décision juridictionnelle rendue sur ce référé.
  3. Pour conclure à l'irrecevabilité des conclusions de la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand en annulation de la convention de concession de service public présentées sur le fondement des dispositions précitées des articles L. 551-13 et L. 551-18 du code de justice administrative, le juge des référés a relevé qu'en admettant que la commune de Challans ait méconnu le délai pendant lequel elle ne devait pas signer le contrat, cette méconnaissance n'avait pas privé la société de son droit de saisir le juge du référé précontractuel d'une troisième requête invoquant un nouveau manquement dès lors qu'elle avait déjà pu présenter deux référés précontractuels rejetés au fond. En statuant ainsi, alors que la circonstance que la société évincée avait déjà exercé deux référés précontractuels au cours desquels elle aurait pu soulever le manquement dont elle se prévalait, ne faisait pas obstacle à ce qu'elle forme un nouveau référé précontractuel tant que le délai de suspension de la signature du contrat n'était pas expiré, l'auteur de l'ordonnance attaquée a commis une erreur de droit.

  4. Il ressort toutefois des énonciations de l'ordonnance attaquée que la commune de Challans avait été informée du sens de l'ordonnance du 27 février 2020 par son avocat, auquel cette ordonnance avait été notifiée, avant de signer le contrat litigieux. Dès lors, elle doit être regardée comme en ayant reçu notification au sens et pour l'application de l'article L. 551-4 du code de justice administrative. Par suite, la signature de ce contrat n'est pas intervenue en méconnaissance de l'obligation de suspension fixée par ce même article. Dans ces conditions, il résulte de ce qui a été dit au point 6 que la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand n'était pas recevable à saisir le juge d'un référé contractuel. Ce motif, qui répond à un moyen invoqué devant les juges du fond et dont l'examen n'implique l'appréciation d'aucune circonstance de fait, doit être substitué au motif erroné en droit retenu par l'ordonnance attaquée, dont il justifie le dispositif. Par suite, le pourvoi de la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand doit être rejeté.
  5. Il résulte de ce qui précède que le pourvoi de la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand doit être rejeté, y compris, par voie de conséquence, ses conclusions présentées au titre de l'article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative. En revanche il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l'espèce, de mettre à la charge de la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand la somme de 3 000 euros à verser, d'une part à la commune de Challans, d'autre part aux sociétés Accueil funéraire 85 et Compagnie des crématoriums au titre des dispositions de cet article.

 

D E C I D E :

Article 1er : Le pourvoi de la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand est rejeté.
Article 2 : La société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand versera, d'une part, à la commune de Challans, une somme de 3 000 euros, d'autre part aux sociétés Accueil funéraire 85 et Compagnie des crématoriums ensemble, une même somme de 3 000 euros au titre des dispositions de l'article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.
Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la société Pompes funèbres funérarium Lemarchand, à la commune de Challans, à la société Accueil funéraire 85 et à la société Compagnie des crématoriums.


Table des matières
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Tous droits réservés © Cabinet Palmier - Brault - Associés